My Emetophobia


****Warning: Gross content ahead****

Hi,
My name is Alyssa.
And I have Emetophobia.

Emetophobia (from the Greek εμετός, to vomit, and φόβος (phóbos), meaning “fear”) is an intense, irrational fear or anxietypertaining to vomiting (From Wikipedia)

What bothers me?

  • Other people (Adults or Children) vomiting in front of me
  • Hearing other people vomit
  • When people say their stomach hurts
  • Seeing it before it gets cleaned up or flushed

What Doesn’t Bother Me

  • Animals vomiting
  • Me vomiting

What is My Reaction

  • Panic (especially when someone says their stomach  hurts)
  • Anxiety (I feel it in my gut ironically)
  • Heart races
  • Intense need to get as far away from that person as possible

When Did I Notice This Fear?

  • Working at camp when I had a couple of campers get sick. I tried really hard to be comforting, but all I wanted was to get way from them
  • In college, I would avoid bathrooms on weekends because I knew partiers would be getting sick in there
  • Eminem’s song Puke has a soundbite of him getting sick and I cannot listen to that song at all

My Theories on What Caused This?

  • In elementary school, whenever someone got sick, the teachers would scream for us to GET BACK GET AWAY DON’T TOUCH IT etc
  • I once got sick during my dance class in elementary school, and I had to be kept isolated for the remainder of the  class

What Next?

  • I really want therapy or something because this is becoming very crippling
  • I wanted to admit I have this problem to see if anyone else shares this fear
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Emetophobia

  1. My life has been quietly run by this phobia for nearly three decades. I am just beginning the process what I hope will be recovery with CBT. I wish you well.

  2. Bourbon

    I have had this fear for 15 years now. You are certainly not alone.

Leave a Reply

