A Creative Writing Exercise That ANYONE Can Do!


The pressure can get to you when you feel like you’re forced to be creative. I ran into that a lot while working as a content editor. It’s your job to be witty, creative, and grammatically correct. Often, the pressure can be overwhelming.

If you’re stuck trying to find the next creative word, whether it’s for your professional writing career or just dabbling at home with poems and verses, here is one exercise you can do to get your brain working again.

Step One:

On a sheet of paper or blank computer document, create four sentences. They don’t have to be poetic; they may even look like a simple conversation. Make sure to number each sentence 1,2, 3, and 4.

Example:

1.) I cannot find the right words today
2.) My brain doesn’t work
3.) This exercise isn’t working
4.) I want another cup of coffee


Step Two:

For this step, you’ll need sentence 2 and sentence 4. These will now become sentence 1 and sentence 3.

Example:

1.)My brain doesn’t work
2.)
3.)I want another cup of coffee
4.)

Step Three:

Fill in the blanks! You’re in charge of coming up with a new sentence for line 2 and line 4.

Example:

 1.) My brain doesn’t work
2.) Because I didn’t sleep last night
3.) I want another cup of coffee
4.) With a handful of delicious cookies

Step Four:

Keep going! What you write is going to sound silly, but sometimes you have to be silly in order to break through the insanity of writer’s block. Good luck!

Example:

I cannot find the right words today
My brain doesn’t work
This exercise isn’t working
I want another cup of coffee

My brain doesn’t work
Because I didn’t sleep last night
I want another cup of coffee
With a handful of delicious cookies

Because I didn’t sleep last night
I didn’t have a lovely dream
With a handful of delicious cookies
I will imagine a lovely dream

I didn’t have a lovely dream
But I’m ready to have one
I will imagine a lovely dream
A dream of chocolate and lovely
men

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Remedies for Writer's Block

Leave a Reply

